Fans choose their all-time ODI dream team

The people have spoken. To coincide with the 40th anniversary of the first One-Day International, cricket fans from almost 100 countries around the world have cast their votes on the ICC website for what they consider to be the all-time ODI team.
In total, fans from 97 countries cast almost 600,000 votes on www.icc-cricket.com between 22 December and 2 January to make their views known as to who have been the best ODI players of the past 40 years in the key categories of opening batsmen, middle-order batsmen, wicketkeeper, spin bowlers and fast bowlers.
Three players from Australia and India, two from the West Indies and one each from South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan have made the final dream 11 with another Aussie named as 12th man while the momentous "438" game between South Africa and Australia in Johannesburg in 2006 has been voted the best ODI yet.
The All-Time ODI Dream Team is:

Opening batsmen: 
Virender Sehwag (both Ind)
Middle order: 
Brian Lara,
 Viv Richards (both WI) and
 Ricky Ponting (Aus)
 Kapil Dev (Ind)
    Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)
Fast bowlers: 
  Wasim Akram (Pak),
    Glenn McGrath (Aus) and 
   Allan Donald (SA)
12th man: Michael Bevan (Aus, the player who received the most number of votes without being enough to make the would-be starting 11).

Supporters had the chance to select the dream team from a shortlist of 48 players in different categories and they could pick their favourite game from a choice of 10 memorable matches.

The match they chose was a run-fest in Johannesburg's famous Wanderers Stadium in March 2006. Batting first, Australia made a record 434-4 in 50 overs with captain Ricky Ponting setting the day alight with 164 off just 105 balls.
The mood of the capacity crowd did not improve when SA lost a wicket with just three runs on the board. But then an innings of magic from Herschelle Gibbs (175 off 111) backed up by cameos by Graeme Smith(90 off 55), Mark Boucher (50 not out) and Johan van der Wath (35) saw the Proteas to a scarcely possible winning score of 438 with nine wickets down and one ball remaining. It was a wonderful occasion and truly an ODI never to be forgotten.
The first ever ODI was played between Australia and England on 5 January 1971 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
Cricket Australia will also mark the 40th anniversary of ODI cricket with a number of events, including a cocktail reception with members of Australia's first ODI team at Victoria's Government House, during Melbourne's Cricket Weekend - which also includes a Twenty20 International - from 14-16 January.
The Australian ODI team from 1971 will also be presented to the crowd during the innings break of the first ODI match of the series between Australia and England at the MCG on Sunday 16 January.
The 40th anniversary of the ODI is being marked in the build-up to cricket's flagship event, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, which begins in Dhaka, Bangladesh on 19 February. As with all nine previous editions of the tournament, fans around the globe will no doubt be treated to amazing feats of individual and team brilliance that will live long in the memory.
The following is the short-list from which voters chose their favourites:
Greatest ODI team of all time:
Opening batsmen (2) - Saeed Anwar, Sourav Ganguly, Gordon Greenidge, Matthew Hayden, Sanath Jayasuriya, Virender SehwagSachin Tendulkar, Glenn Turner.
Middle-order batsmen (3) - Michael Bevan, Martin Crowe, Aravinda de Silva, Inzamam-ul Haq, Brian Lara, Javed Miandad, Ricky Ponting, Viv Richards.
All-rounder (1) - Ian Botham, Kapil Dev, Andrew Flintoff, Richard Hadlee, Jacques Kallis, Imran Khan, Lance Klusener, Shaun Pollock.
Wicket-keeper (1) - Mark Boucher, MS Dhoni, Andy Flower Adam Gilchrist, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Moin Khan, Alec Stewart, Kumar Sangakkara.
Fast bowlers (3) - Wasim Akram, Allan Donald, Joel Garner, Michael Holding, Dennis Lillee, Glenn McGrath, Chaminda Vaas, Waqar Younis.
Spinner (1) - Shahid Afridi, Carl Hooper, Anil Kumble, Muttiah Muralidaran, Saqlain Mushtaq, Harbhajan Singh, Shane Warne, Daniel Vettori.
Greatest ODI match of all-time:
West Indies beat Australia by 17 runs at Lord's, 21 June 1975.
India beat West Indies by 43 runs at Lord's, 25 June 1983.
Pakistan beat India won by one-wicket at Sharjah, 18 April 1986.
England won by three wickets against Australia at Sydney, 22 January 1987.
Australia won by one-wicket against West Indies at Sydney, 12 January 1996.
Australia tied with South Africa at Edgbaston, 17 June 1999.
Pakistan tied with Sri Lanka, at Sharjah, 15 October 1999.
India beat Pakistan by five runs at Karachi, 13 March 2004.
Bangladesh beat Australia by five wickets at Cardiff, 18 June 2005.
South Africa beat Australia by one-wicket at Johannesburg, 12 March 2006.

courtesy : yahoo cricket

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi friends,
My blog has been shifted from blogger platform to a new server...
So pls visit my blog at www.mahisworld.in

Thanks For Visiting ............Please post some comments